St George’s

So a couple of days ago I went to an open day at St George’s, University of London and I absolutely loved it there – even the lecture theatres amazed me and the fact that you just see people rushing around like in an actual hospital.

Pros:

  • The halls are lovely – and I was sold on double bed.
  • Everyone was so friendly and nice and inclusive (which I think most would-be medics should be good at being always – but it was brill)
  • The cohorts are much smaller than most other medical school – which I consider to be a good thing since you won’t just be a nameless face to the lecturers.
  • Early clinical skills, like I was so impressed with the simulators. We get to learn all sorts of things in the first two years that other schools don’t teach until clinical years.
  • HUGE focus on communication skills and inter-professional training – apparently George’s medics come out of the degree to be one of the best communicators!
  • Spiral learning – unlike system based, this, where you cover all the basics and build on the knowledge of each topic, would help me reinforce the information as weeks go by!

Cons:

  • Apparently, tooting is kind of a dodgy place to live – not sure how true that is?
  • Have to live out (a pro in a ‘I wanna be independent’ way, but not in the finance sense)

I may be completely biased now that I have firmed SGUL but there isn’t really any negative thing that I can find about it (perhaps I’m not looking hard enough), so I insured UCL but if all goes well – I’ll be a medic at George’s this September! Gosh this is so exciting.


On a side note: Revision is slowly killing my soul. It’s just so useless revising photosynthesis and ecology and calculus when I’m never going to use it in my life after my A2 exam (thankfully in 115 days. Yes, I counted). I just feel like I’m behind on everything now that UCAS is over – but I guess I’ll just have to suck it up and work my arse off. Onwards and upwards it is!

This made me smile.

This made me smile.

Love,

Hedgie (come talk to me I don’t bite) x

Leave a comment